Comparing two contig assemblies- LASTZ failure

Hi, I have zero knowledge of coding, so I really enjoy using Galaxy to analyze my NGS data. I am interested in comparing two genome contig assemblies. Both contigs are more than 2Gb in size and when I ran the LastZ on the genomes for comparison, I got the error message below.

FAILURE: in load_fasta_sequence for /galaxy-repl/main/files/048/440/dataset_48440756.dat, sequence length 2,147,296,059+425,431 exceeds maximum (2,147,483,637)

How can I compare the two contig assemblies in Galaxy then? I appreciate your help.

-Sandip

I’m sorry, it looks like the Galaxy version of this tool does not support genomes larger than 2Gb. The command line version does, if you build a special version.

If you want to do the analysis in Galaxy, you’ll have to use a workaround like comparing portions of your assemblies to each other. Are 2,147,296,059 and 425,431 the sizes of your two assemblies? That puts you only slightly over the maximum size, so you could just do it in two alignments: Cut your first assembly (the 2,147,296,059bp one) in half and compare the other to one half, then the other.

Actually, since that would put you well under the limit, you could make each alignment more complete by just cutting off the last 250kb of your big assembly for one alignment, then the first 250kb for the second.

Hi Nick, thanks for your reply. Two contig assemblies I am comparing are 2.324Gg and 2.059 Gb in size. Can I split the genomes into two parts each in Galaxy and compare? I am interested in generating Dotplot from this analysis. How would the genome splitting affect the Dotplot output?

Is there any other software in the Galaxy for assembly comparison?

Also, how to split the genomes in Galaxy?