Local Galaxy installation: Tool Shed dependencies as packages are not installed --Older tool without dependency resolvers incorporated

Dear Galaxy community,

I am quite new to Galaxy and have set up my own local Galaxy server for learning.
This is installed on Centos, configured with separate PostgreSQL DB and Apache as proxy.
So far the server worked well.

However, I have a problem when installing tools from the Tool Shed. More specifically with those tools that have dependencies that are not installed via Conda but via Package.
When I install such a tool (e.g. fml_gff3togtf) the installer tries to install the dependencies (here e.g. atlas or biopython) but fails. Under “Manage Tools” those dependencies are then listed as “Installed, missing tool dependencies”:

I had a look at the folders in “Database” and realized that the dependency package is downloaded in the temp folder, the dependency folder are generated under “Dependencies” but those folders are empty.
Some dependencies have a installation.log file - if I see a message here it is mostly something like “make: command not found” - which makes sense as the folders are empty.

This only is valid for dependencies that are installed via “package” not for those via Conda - here everything works fine. Does anyone have a clue whats wrong with Galaxy here?

Many thanks for any input or hint!

Welcome, @schmitts!

Details for fml_gff3togtf

Summary:

1. Has not been updated since April 2015 by the community contributor author
  2. Does not appear to be maintained anymore
  3. Has several open issues about result content that seem concerning (at least to me)
  4. Uses older dependency handling methods, when used at all
  5. Requires that Biopython and most of the other dependencies are already installed first, before installing the tool