UniProt SignalP Predictions: How tobautomatically remove predicted signal equence from FASTA

dear community,

I was wondering if someone knows how to download the fasta sequences of proteins without their predicted signal sequence. I get the protein data from the UniProt database. At the moment I’m removing the signal sequence form my fasta sequences by hand. But I reckon there has got to be a more efficient way, right? I really appreciate your help.
Kind regards,
Arman

This may not be the appropriate forum for this question. This forum is related to usage of Galaxy analysis platform.

Dear Nekrut,

I didn’t know that this wasn’t the appropriate forum. I reckoned that the Galaxy tool could perform such operations. Do you have any suggestions to where I should ask this question?

kind regard

Hi Arman,
I am a newbie also in that forum. I guess this forum is more on getting help about running Galaxy tools, interfacing tools with Galaxy and installing Galaxy. Maybe would it be OK to ask “Which tool can remove signalP from FASTA file?”, but I am unsure.
I think you could post general questions to biostars.org. May be this post will be interesting for you: https://www.biostars.org/p/281716/ If you start automating some process, you have to learn a little bit of programming and Python is very useful.
Alternatively, you could ask directly to the DB provider, ie UniProt https://www.uniprot.org/help/
Hope this help.

2 Likes

Good info!

There are several line-command and fasta manipulation utilities in Galaxy as wrapped tools and ways to access functions not specifically wrapped as tools.

• Search the tool panel at the Galaxy server where you are working to find tools by keyword search (sed, awk, fasta).
  • Use a Jupyter notebook in Galaxy: “Visualize > Interactive environments”