Comparison of RNA-seq data with a published paper.

Hi Everyone in the community.

Once again want to highlight Galaxy’s community efforts. I am very new to this field, almost useless I would say. I want to learn RNA-seq, and in this respect the GalaxyHelp site come in super handy. A big thank you.

My problem:
I downloaded raw RNA-seq data from the NCBI. 5 treated and 5 control samples from a mouse study, already published. After reading the web site and following the tutorial on Reference-based RNA-Seq data analysis my results did not match with the results of the paper.

Papers methods: NovaSeq6000, Bcl to FASTQ with CASAVA software suite, RNA sequencing results with Kallisto with mouse genome release-96, counts and TPM mapped to gene using mapping file retrieved from Ensembl BioMart website filtering genes and transcripts. Then DESeq2, normalised to counts and keep FDR<5%.

My steps for the analysis were the following:

(1) Loaded a SSR list of control and treated samples as separate collections through the Upload.

(2) Got the data for each collection through the Faster Download and Extract Reads in FASTQ. Each collection contained 5 samples as a set of 5 paired-end data.

(3) Checked the quality of data through FastQC on each collection of data. The data indicated fragments of 75.
Some stats: Sequences flagged as poor quality, 0; Sequence length, 20-76; %GC, 46.

(4) Performed Cutadapt on both collections of data following the aforementioned tutorial.
“Paired Collection”: 2 PE fastqs
“Filter Options” - “Minimum length (R1)”: 20
“Read Modification Options” - “Quality cutoff”: 20
“Outputs selector” - Select: Report: Cutadapt’s per-adapter statistics. You can use this file with MultiQC.

(5) Performed MultiQC again on the reports from the results from (4).