Dataset error report using qiime2 feature-classifier (naive bayes)

Hello,
This is my first time using Galaxy, so I’d appreciate some help.
While trying to use the tool “qiime2 feature-classifier fit-classifier-naive-bayes”, the tool fails and feedbacks the following error:
"
Execution resulted in the following messages:

Fatal error: Exit code 127 ()

Galaxy job runner generated the following standard error:

/data/jwd05e/main/059/800/59800764/galaxy_59800764.sh: line 60: 3891.2 / 1: syntax error: invalid arithmetic operator (error token is “.2 / 1”)
"
I’ve tried googling it but couldn’t figure out what’s wrong. Can somebody help?

1 Like

Welcome, @Mariana_Lopes

As a quick guess: the tool is attempting to perform a mathematical function on data that is not a number. Or rather, not a number that it understands as a “valid” number.

This was probably a value in your input. Less likely would be some value computed by the tool. Why? I would expect the tool itself to calculate values it also knows how to interpret.

This is the line in the code referenced. It is performing a check, and that looks like it is screening for whole numbers. I could be wrong, so double check.

https://github.com/qiime2/galaxy-tools/blob/main/tools/suite_qiime2__feature_classifier/qiime2__feature_classifier__fit_classifier_naive_bayes.xml#L60

How I found that line of code: Tool form → Options menu at the top right → See in ToolShed → the TS repository links out to Development repository → then clicked into the xml file.

This tool doesn’t have test data directly in Github, but the TS repository also has a link out to the Content homepage which is usually the original tool authors repository. For this tool, it is here GitHub - qiime2/q2-feature-classifier: QIIME 2 plugin supporting taxonomic classification, which points to https://qiime2.org/.