Extract workflow from history option is invisible

Hi all,

I am new to using Galaxy and tried to follow the Galaxy 101 tutorial. Unfortuantely. I can’t extract the workflow from history because although my history panel has the cog icon, when I click it, no such option shows up. This is contrary to what is shown in this tutorial: https://galaxyproject.org/tutorials/g101/#creating-and-editing-a-workflow

Please help me :slight_smile:
Best,
4symmetry

1 Like

Hi @4symmetry and welcome,
are you signed in when you’re trying to do this? In general, workflow functionality on Galaxy servers is only available to registered users (cause the workflow has to be associated with you somehow).
Best,
Wolfgang

1 Like

Hi @wm75,
thanks a lot for your quick reply! Ah, yes, that was the problem. I wasn’t aware that you can use Galaxy without logging in, at all. I also currently have only my laptop screen, so when I tried to view both the tutorial and the Galaxy interface on it, the windows became so small so that the login/register button on the Galaxy interface had disappeared. Thus I thought I was logged in. :see_no_evil:

Thanks a lot!
Christina

1 Like

@4symmetry Ok, glad that helped!

Sigh, and run into the same situation a lot of the time, even on a desktop. We all waiting for magic virtual screens to become a thing :fairy: But, until then, maybe Galaxy itself can do something about the top Masthead being friendlier to smaller screens – I’ll make a request.

Update: Preserve a readable masthead, even when a brower window is smaller · Issue #10417 · galaxyproject/galaxy · GitHub

1 Like

Also created a papercut issue for this and a related login-only available functionality that could be better: Present more visual cues in the GUI for options that are only available when logged in · Issue #10418 · galaxyproject/galaxy · GitHub