I cannot figure out what to do with Fastq files that are already paired

Hi there! I am a baby researcher, a post-bac on my second microbiome analysis project. I am on the second step and I am already stuck. On my previous project, I was working with Illumina data, so I received raw data as unpaired sets and was, therefore, able to follow the tutorial exactly. It went very well with only a few hiccups. In this project, my PIs sent the samples to a different lab for sequencing in which they used Pac Bio to sequence the data. I was able to use software to bin the files back into separate samples so that now I have 18 individual samples that are already paired. However, now I am not sure how to progress from here. I don’t need to use the make. contigs command, right? So do I just group the files? Do I need to also unpair the samples first? Is there a way to use make. contigs anyway?
Ugh, I admit, I am a better biologist than a computer scientist and I feel completely stupid right now.
Thanks in advance to anyone who can help!

1 Like

Hello @n_griffith42

These are PacBio long reads, correct?

What are your goals?

• Assemble the reads?

• Call SNPs?

• Assign taxonomy/function?

The samples are bayou water sample from different time points. I am one of the only people in my lab group that has done any sequencing analysis before. The PIs want me to do what I did with my previous samples which is compare changes in microbes over time and between the locations. I was planning on using silva again to align the samples for taxonomy. Then I could do the comparisons. The problem for me is I am a regular biologist learning bioinformatics on my own >_< I received a single fasta file then was able to bin it into the 18 separate samples. Now I am trying to figure out how to get started with the process without needing to do the make.contigs step.

Additionally the binning generated fastq files which seems to be upsetting Galaxy greatly.

1 Like