On an Macbook Pro M1 Max Arm64 Mac. Even after editing job_conf.xml, I can only use one core

Hi. First off, I am a complete noob, but I have managed to get Galaxy running on a M1 Mac. Unfortunately, I am not able to take advantage of the multiple cores. I know I need to edit the job_conf.xml file so that it will override the GALAXY_SLOTS default value for most of the tools, which is usually 1. I have an 10 CPU core mac with 32gb of memory and I want to try to optimise galaxy to use all of it when necessary.

I have followed several other post and have tried to cobble together my own job_conf.xml file to have the following:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<job_conf>
<plugins>
  <plugin id="local" type="runner" load="galaxy.jobs.runners.local:LocalJobRunner" workers="10"/>
<plugin id="multilocal" type="runner" load="galaxy.jobs.runners.local:LocalJobRunner" workers="10"/>
</plugins>
<handlers>
<handler id="main"/>
</handlers>

<destinations default="local">
    <destination id="local" runner="local">
    <destination id="local10threads" runner="multilocal">
        <param id="request_cpus">10</param>
        <param id="memory">28G</param>
        <param id="embed_metadata_in_job">False</param>
        <param id="nativeSpecification">-p Galaxy -n 10</param>
        <env file="/data/galaxy/galaxy-central/galaxy_venv/bin/activate" />
    </destination>
</destinations>
<tools>
    <tool id="bowtie2" destination="local10threads"/>
    <tool id="bwa-mem" destination="local10threads"/>
    <tool id="bwa-mem2" destination="local10threads"/>
    <tool id="bowtie2" destination="local10threads"/>
    <tool id="bowtie" destination="local10threads"/>
    <tool id="bowtie-build" destination="local10threads"/>
    <tool id="fastq_groomer_parallel" destination="local10threads"/>
    <tool id="deeptools" destination="local10threads"/>
    <tool id="cufflinks" destination="local10threads"/>
    <tool id="cuffdiff" destination="local10threads"/>