bowtie2 fatal error message

Good morning,

I am running a ChIP-Seq (pair-end) analysis for the first time and managed to find a good pipeline to follow. The pipeline is described in the following way

FASTQC - TRIMMOMATIC - FASTQC - BOWTIE2 - MACS2 callpeak - MACS2 bdgdiff - HOMER Peak annotation and motif discovery

My have managed to analyze my data with no problems up to the TRIMMOMATIC and the following FASTQC. However, when i run the BOWTIE2 (pair-end) with my data from the trimmomatic, the analysis is interrupted and gives me the folloring error message:

Dataset Error

An error occurred while running the tool toolshed.g2.bx.psu.edu/repos/devteam/bowtie2/bowtie2/2.3.4.2 .

Error Details

Execution resulted in the following messages:

Fatal error: Exit code 1 ()

As i am new to this, i don’t really know where the problem lies. I have tried to search for help on Biostars but couldn’t find anything conclusive for my analysis. Would anyone have a possible solution/advice on how to solve this problem?

Thank you very much in advance for all time and effort invested in my request

Michel

1 Like

Hi @Michel

This error usually means that there is some problem with the fastq inputs.

This prior Q&A includes links that can help (is here at Galaxy Help): Fatal error: exit code 1 () using bowtie2

Please review your data/work for format issues first, then let us know if you need more help.

Thanks, Jen

Hello Jen,

Thank you very much for your reply. I checked the initial files and ran bowtie2 on those (so not trimmed). The bowtie2 worked and gave me the following results:

86172044 reads; of these:
86172044 (100.00%) were paired; of these:
53820433 (62.46%) aligned concordantly 0 times
24592530 (28.54%) aligned concordantly exactly 1 time
7759081 (9.00%) aligned concordantly >1 times
----
53820433 pairs aligned concordantly 0 times; of these:
70903 (0.13%) aligned discordantly 1 time
----
53749530 pairs aligned 0 times concordantly or discordantly; of these: