How to invoke workflow using Galaxy's REST API

Hello,

I’m a developer at IU working on AMP project (https://github.com/AudiovisualMetadataPlatform). We are using Galaxy as our backend workflow engine. Right now we need to use Galaxy’s REST API to invoke a workflow, but I’m running into some issues. I tried 3 different ways (sending POST request to Galaxy server, running python command on localhost, and using blend4j WorkflowClient, and all of them end up with the same error that the input file is blank whether I use a dataset in history or a file uploaded into data library. Here are the details of what I tried (for security reasons I replaced the real key value witth “ValidUserKey”).

Method 1:
Sending POST request to http://localhost:8300/api/workflows?key=validUserApiKey using Postman or Curl, with the following fields in the request body:
{
“workflow_id”: “0a248a1f62a0cc04”
“parameters”: {}
“ds_map”: {“0”: {“src”: “ldda”, “id”: “2d9035b3fc152403”}}
“no_add_to_history”: “true”
“history”: “hist_id=d413a19dec13d11e”
}

I got a valid response, showing that the specified workflow is invoked, two jobs for the 2 steps in the workflow are created and queued, the outputs are saved into the specified history. However, when I look into the outputs, the first job shows as failed in Error, “tool error, An error occurred with this dataset: Specify a dataset of the required format / build for parameter input.”; while the second job is suspened as its input is the output of the first job.The log shows the following:

galaxy.jobs.runners ERROR 2019-08-28 14:44:40,932 [p:20569,w:1,m:0] [LocalRunner.work_thread-2] (106) Failure preparing job
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “lib/galaxy/jobs/runners/init.py”, line 218, in prepare_job
job_wrapper.prepare()
File “lib/galaxy/jobs/init.py”, line 862, in prepare
tool_evaluator.set_compute_environment(compute_environment, get_special=get_special)
File “lib/galaxy/tools/evaluation.py”, line 78, in set_compute_environment