Permanently deleting (purging) data requires that browser permissions allow for pop-ups

Hi there! I have reached my disk quota, and therefore am trying to purge my history that is using up all of the storage. However, when I click “purge” the screen freezes and does not purge the history. Any suggestions on how to fix this?
Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @jradfor8

You are working at UseGalaxy.org, correct? The function is working correctly (just tested it to be certain).

The screen may fade out in the middle panel under the User > Histories view when large amounts of data are permanently deleted-purged. Allow that process to complete before navigating away.

You may also need to then log out and back in again to reset the updated quota usage. The server will eventually catch up but that triggers the quota usage recalculation to run quicker.

Note: If a history is in a shared state, you may not be able to purge it. Unshare, then purge.

FAQ: Account quotas

Thanks!

Hi @jennaj

Yes I am working in UseGalaxy.org. When I am in the “view all histories” page, and I try to purge the history, the “purge” button remains clicked, but nothing happens.
When I am in Users > Histories, the same thing happens when I click “delete permanently”. When you say “before navigating away” do you mean I should leave that page pulled up on my computer untouched? Or can I still use my computer for other unrelated things (i.e. using Word or other chrome browsers)? Because once I go to use my computer for other things, the buttons that I clicked on Galaxy (i.e. the permanently delete or purge buttons") become unclicked, and it is like nothing happened. I attached a screenshot to show what I mean when I say it stays clicked.

Thank you for replying! Much appreciated.

1 Like

Thank you, the screenshot helps.

What is going on: Since permanently deleting (purging) data cannot be “undone”, Galaxy has a pop-up for confirmation. The view appears to be “frozen” because it is waiting for feedback from that pop-up before doing anything more.

Tune your browser preferences (Safari, Chrome, Firefox, etc) to allow for pop-ups from usegalaxy.org. That same pop-up confirmation is used for all of the many ways data purging is possible, so you’ll need access to it, or won’t be able to purge anything.

Thanks!

Hi @jennaj
Thank you so much! Problem solved. :slight_smile:

1 Like