Running Local Galaxy Environment on MacOSX Big Sur w/ Anaconda3 (conda)

Hi - this may be longwinded but I am somewhat new to this and would like to be as polite and helpful as possible.

I have been trying (to no avail) for a few days to run Galaxy using a local instance and despite scouring the web for similar problems, am unable to find a solution.

I installed the latest version of galaxy from git using the following [note: initially, I installed the galaxy packages outside my Anaconda3 folder but have since removed and reinstalled Galaxy in the proper Anaconda3 base path which contains the python and anaconda-navigator programs]:

$ git clone -b release_20.09 https://github.com/galaxyproject/galaxy.git

After installation, I changed directories to the galaxy folder within the anaconda3 directory and used:

$ sh run.sh

I get one of two types of “errors” —

{1} Either the program runs indefinitely (gets stuck on a step but does not return an error) and does not provide the local server link. Pasted below is the last message received when this happens.

[database_heartbeart_main.web.1.thread] main.web.1 is config watcher

galaxy.tools.search DEBUG 2021-01-24 15:42:16,103 [p:25634,w:1,m:0] [Thread-1] Toolbox index finished (42.075 ms)

{2} The other error happens if I kill this script/close the terminal while it’s running, and try to create another instance. I get a message stating “probably another instance of uWSGI is running on the same address” and “Address already in use”. To get around this I have been running the following, as it seemed to be a solution for others on the forums:

sudo pkill -f uwsgi -9

The next time I try to to create an instance, I get the first error (stuck). This cycle then continues (stuck → force quit → server in use → sudo kill → stuck)