de novo assembly using Trinity in Galaxy

Hi I’m studying on a plant that has no reference genome and only has one scaffold assembly and one gff3 annotation file. If I want to do de novo assembly using the Galaxy Can I import the links of 20 fastq files from the RNA-seq of the samples together to construct the Reference Genome with Trinity ? If this is possible, please help me import the links of these files together into Galaxy and make the reference genome. Maximum number of samples or data can be used for Deno Assembly in Galaxy?

Thanks a lot

1 Like

Welcome, @snt

In short, yes you can assemble within Galaxy. Trinity is designed to assemble RNA-seq reads into a Transcriptome Assembly (not Genome). Genome assembly from WGS reads works best with smaller genomes (procaryotic) when working at public Galaxy servers due to resources (Unicyler is one tool choice for that purpose).

The reads need to be prepared and input properly. The upper limit of what can be assembled is usually based more on the read content and genome size/characteristics, rather than the volume/size of the read data. You won’t know until you try, to see how your data will assemble at any particular server (your own or a public site). The help below covers QA, input format/structures, and advice about downsampling as needed.

Also, keep in mind that some plant genomes can be quite complicated to assemble for biological reasons, and can require more resources (especially memory). Some will require employing advanced assembly methods. Much discussion about plant assembly and strategies can be found online with a few searches. Issues around large genomes in general, and sub-features like high repetitive content (example: Lettuce), high ploidy content (example: Strawberry), large chromosomes (example: Wheat) can all be factors to consider. But try the simple approach described below first, certainly can’t hurt.

Requirements/Best practices for Reference Transcriptome assembly using RNA-seq reads: