RNA seq HiSAT2 pipeline - slurmstepd: error: Detected 1 oom-kill

Hi there,

I’ve got 10 fastqsanger files (5 forward and reverse reads). I’ve concatenated the forward and reverse reads into 2 files, and then run HiSAT 2 on the paired-end library using Jetstream as the resource parameter. This job fails due to the following message:

“slurmstepd: error: Detected 1 oom-kill event(s) in step 2535724.batch cgroup. Some of your processes may have been killed by the cgroup out-of-memory handler.”

Could someone please suggest what I should do to resolve this?

I’ve tried to run the same process on a single forward and reverse read and I have experienced the same error.

(I’m relatively new to Galaxy and I am using the tool panel)

Thanks,
Tom

1 Like

Hi @TGoddard

It seems very likely that the tool is running out of resources during job execution.

That could be due to a problem with the inputs (format/content) or the data really is too large.

How to check for input problems, and your options for what to do about that are covered in this FAQ: Galaxy Support - Galaxy Community Hub >> My job ended with an error. What can I do?

This strongly suggests a content or format issue, or possibly a parameter issue, unless there is something special about your data or even that single pair was really large. Did you do fastq QA/QC steps already? If not, that would be a good place to start.

I added a tag to your post that will point to much prior Q&A about how to do QA/QC within Galaxy (more FAQs, tutorials, direct help within the post).

Thanks!

Hi @jennaj,

Thank you for your reply. The fastq files have already been through QA/QC, but, taking what you’ve said, I believe the cause of the error could be within the reference genome that I am using. I uploaded my own reference and created a custom build. The file format is fasta, but I didn’t run NormalizeFasta.