FeatureCounts Persistent Fatal error: Exit code 255

Hi,

I am trying to use the featurecounts tool. I have read through the different community support questions of people having similar issues, and I have tried to follow the advices I understood, but none of them have helped. The message says

"ERROR: failed to find the gene identifier attribute in the 9th column of the provided GTF file.
The specified gene identifier attribute is ‘gene_id’
An example of attributes included in your GTF annotation is ‘gene_id’.

In the field “GFF feature type filter” i have tried with gene, exon and CDS. And in the field “GFF gene identifier” I have tried with either “gene_id”, “gene_name” “gene_source” and non of those optiones have worked. I have verified in my gtf file and indeed the 9th colum is “gene_id”.

I am using the h38 human genome assembly. I am pretty new to galaxy as well, so i would appreciate explanations for “beginners”.

I have followed the next GalaxyHelp links without success, so anything different will be appreciated link1, link2link3link4

Thank you!
Adriana

Hi Adriana,
check this thread:

Is it similar to your situation?
If you work with hg38, consider using featureCounts with built-in gene model

You can also post a fragment of the gene annotation you use with featureCounts.

I get reliable results with GenCode annotations.

Hope that helps.

Kind regards,
Igor

Hi Igor,

Thank you for your reply. My issue is not similar to the one shared in the thread, as the tool stops before being able to give results at all. See below the error shown:

I tried using the built-in gene option but it is not “available” to use, see below.

I figure this could be because I am using a collection? So if because of that I cannot use the built-in option, how can I sort out the issue? I have verified and my gtf file does show “gene_id” in the 9th column, so the GFF gene identifier should be correct, although the error claims otherwise.

Thank you again.

Best,
Adriana