Problems Adding Tags to Elements

Hi all. I am trying to attach tags to some elements in a collection. Whenever I use the “edit dataset tags” function, the tag disappears after closing the collection. What could be the cause of this issue?

I don’t have this problem when adding tags to the whole collection or to datasets which aren’t part of a collection.

Hi @Iisa
thank you for bringing this issue to our attention! I’ve reproduced it.

@jennaj We need your expertise. The tag label icon is absent from individual datasets in a collection in new history view. It is present in legacy history view, but I cannot add tags. ‘tag elements’ tool creates a new collection with Tagged in the name, but tags are not visible, and DESeq2 does not see the tags, when I loosely followed tutorial Group tags for complex experimental designs
The same issue on both usegalaxy.org and Galaxy Australia. I have very little experience with tags in collections, but this option was used on Galaxy Australia some time ago. Maybe you can double check? It looks like a Galaxy issue…
Kind regards,
Igor

1 Like

Hi @Iisa & @igor

I think that most of this is working correctly, and maybe the items tested out below help more. Running through the tutorial is definitely possible. Adding/removing tags directly for general collection tags or element dataset “group” tags is error prone but also possible.

• Adding in tags to a collection (top level):
    1. Expand the collection
    2. Click on the tag icon
    3. Type in the tag content
    4. Then, make sure to hit return after completing or the changes could be lost.
      → the tag itself will look different after: be in a distinct box with text and a color
    5. If using the legacy history view, the history needs to be refreshed to show the tag.
    6. The tag must start with a hash # if you want it display in the history view, otherwise it will only show up when the collection is expanded. Both versions will display for input lists on a tool form.