Make a suitable RefSeq for FreeBayes from self-mapped sequence.

Hi,

I am very new to Galaxy and bioinformatics overall (I have never had any education in it), however I am using Galaxy for my internship project, which involves analyzing NGS data from eight different yeast strains to identify differences between them and design yeast-specific primers. I already have completed several steps like quality checking, trimming, and mapping the data to their respective reference genomes. Additionally, I’ve isolated the specific region from my alignments in which I am interested in.

However, I’ve hit a roadblock. I am trying to pinpoint the differences in this region between two of the eight yeasts. Initially, I attempted to use FreeBayes for this by creating a RefSeq for one yeast strain and comparing it with the sequence of the other strain. However I keep getting errors like: 'unable to find FASTA index entry for ‘NC_001141.2’, that I don’t know to resolve. I addition my FASTA file looks like this:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ATACGTGTTATACAGAAAATCTATTGGAGGATACAATTTGCTTGTTTTTGAGGTATTTTCAATAATTTTAAGTGCAGCTTTATCAATAAAATTCAAAGGTCCAATATCTCCGTTTGTTAAGTTAAGTTCTC-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So I understand that this is not a good FASTA file to use as RefSeq, I’m unsure how to proceed from here. I’m open to suggestions on how to create a suitable RefSeq or if there are alternative tools or methods to identify differences between the two yeast strains. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Hi @Isa