featureCounts strand setting and impact on DESeq2 results

Hi all,
I am a beginner into RNA-Seq data analysis and was wondering if someone could explain what exactly the ‘Specify strand information’ setting from the featureCounts tool is doing. For my pair-end RNA-Seq data analysis I am following the workflow as per this tutorial. BTW, I am performing this analysis for data (biological triplicates) generated under 3 experimental conditions A, B and C. So total 9 files.

After estimation of the strandedness (using the infer experiment tool) of my pair-end RNA-Seq data alignments I find that my libraries are reverse stranded (i.e. on average for all files “1±,1-+,2++,2–”: 0.9670). Does it mean that for featureCounts I need to ‘Specify strand information’ as stranded (Reverse)?

I have tried both combinations of Stranded (Forward) and Stranded (Reverse) with the idea that I do not want to miss out on read counts that originated from overlapping but opposite strand genes or the antisense strand of non-overlapping genes i.e. antisense strand where there are no annotated features yet on the target genome thereby ‘discovering’ potential new transcribed regions. I then created 3 dataset collections as:

1. ‘all counts’ - containing forward and reverse count files (total 18 tabular datasets) for each sample (A, B and C).
  2. ‘all forward counts’ - containing only forward count files (total 9 tabular datasets) for each sample (A, B and C).
  3. ‘all reverse counts’ - containing only reverse count files (total 9 tabular datasets) for each sample (A, B and C).