genome alignment errors with Bowtie2

Hi everyone,

I am new to using Galaxy, and bioinformatics in general. I am trying to align a hummingbird genome to the Anna’s Hummingbird reference genome…I’ve successfully uploaded the fastq and fa files, but the bowtie2 runs fail. I want to produce a bam file that I can combine with my other individuals who have been aligned to the same genome. I’d appreciate any help I can get!

A screenshot of my settings is attached.

The errors I get are:
error
An error occurred with this dataset:
Settings:
Output files: “genome.*.bt2”
Line rate: 6 (line is 64 bytes)
Lines per side: 1 (side is 64 bytes)
Offset rate: 4 (one in 16)
FTable chars: 10
Strings: unpacked
Max bucket size: default
Max bucket size, sqrt multiplier: default

and

3 Bowtie2 on data 2: aligned reads (BAM)

error

An error occurred with this dataset:

Settings: Output files: “genome.*.bt2” Line rate: 6 (line is 64 bytes) Lines per side: 1 (side is 64 bytes) Offset rate: 4 (one in 16) FTable chars: 10 Strings: unpacked Max bucket size: default Max bucket size, sqrt multiplier: default

Hello,
From your screenshot it looks like you are using the fasta file as the (reads) input and mapping to a Baboon reference genome. Try providing your reads to the “FASTA/Q file” input field and select the ‘use from history option’ to use the fasta reference as the reference genome.

Give that a try and let us know if issues persist.

Thanks for using Galaxy!

Mo Heydarian

Thanks for the reply. I re-ran it, and the run finished, however, the bam and bai files were only 2.5 kb in size each and contain gibberish.