Failed to activate conda environment! - Mapping step

Hi everyone,

I am new to Galaxy and I am facing a conda environment problem lately on the usegalaxy.org Main server.
I am trying to map my data on the human genome using the RNA STAR tool but whenever I execute my jobs on the usegalaxy.org server, I have this error:

Failed to activate conda environment! Error was:
/jetstream/scratch0/main/jobs/41688358/command.sh: line 110: /cvmfs/main.galaxyproject.org/deps/_conda/bin/activate: No such file or directory

and all of my files are empty.

I tried to do the same mapping step with HISAT2 and TOPHAT tools but I still face the same error.

However, I tried to follow the galaxy tutorial on RNA-seq analysis Hands-on: Hands-on: Reference-based RNA-Seq data analysis / Transcriptomics and I do not have that problem.

Can someone tell me if I am doing something wrong or is it problem occurring within the server?

Thank you!

It is possible that the server has a problem, perhaps the directory really does not exist

1 Like

Hi @MPG

If the tutorial data works, but your data does not, with the same tool – that indicates a problem with your data.

Questions:

1. Have you tried a rerun yet? This error usually occurs for a very small fraction of jobs and is not reproducible (small cluster hiccup). But I’ve also seen problematic inputs be the root reason when reproducible.
  2. If a rerun also fails…
    • Are you running the most current version of the mapping tool(s)? Which? Please post back the tool names and versions for each, or better, try using the latest version(s) first, then post back which were used/failed.
    • Does a tool like FastQC execute properly against the fastq input datasets?
    • How are the read data organized? Single end or paired? Individual datasets, multiple datasets, or a dataset collection?