RNA seq analysis on transgenic animal

We are doing RNAseq on a transgenic animal and need to see expression from the transgene.
As the trangene is not present in the “standard” genome, I think the relevant sequences cannot be mapped and will not be represented after HISAT2 analysis…does anyone know a smart workaround…the transgenic construct is 11Kb, but is dont see options to provide a “custom genome” where I create a genome with the extra 11Kbsequence in or simply use the 11Kb construct as a “mini genome”

The must be a a way to do this but i am just a beginner bioinformatics-wise…any pointers??

In HISAT2, specifically, there is “Source for the reference genome” right at the top of the tool interface, which lets you switch between “Use a built-in genome” and “Use a genome from history”, the latter being what you are looking for.

Analogous options exist for alternative mappers like STAR.

I suggest you add your 11 kb sequence to the genome. You might have to provide a gff3/gtf file of the annotations and if thats the case you would have to add a few lines to the reference genome’s gff3 file to indicate where the gene and exons are in the 11 kb segment.

Thank you!, i will give that a try
F

Which approach did you end up using? I have the exact situation.

I am still working on this!
As I am a complete novice I need to google everything…I just managed to download the right version of my zebrafish genome… I hope…now starting at seeing how to edit this…will keep you posted…I will keep a log of what i did exactly and keep you posted

2 Likes

Dear Michael…thanks for you great pointers
I got hold of the GFF file and genome sequence but was wondering how to add lines.